In preparation for Presidents day , and the election year to follow, here are some interesting facts about Presidents from Ohio.

  • 8 presidents are from Ohio – William Henry Harrison (1840), Ulysses S. Grant (1868), Rutherford B. Hayes (1876), James A. Garfield (1880),Benjamin Harrison (1888),William McKinley (1896), William Howard Taft (1908), Warren G. Harding (1920)
  • ½ of the presidents to die in Office were from Ohio
    William Harrison – Died of pneumonia
    James Garfield – Assassinated
    William McKinley – Assassinated
    Warren G. Harding – Stroke
  • Of the 9 Presidents portrayed on US paper currency, 2 were from Ohio: Grant ($50) and McKinley ($500)
  • Of the 12 Presidents that were generals during their lifetime, 5 were from Ohio: William Harrison, U.S. Grant, Rutherford Hayes, James Garfield and Benjamin Harrison.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s